Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Workout Routines and Whatnot

I re-read my earlier posts and there was one about not wanting to go to a gym.  I want to say that I am loving my membership and am using the hell out of it, but I'm still wrapping my mind around what to do there.  I'm a fairly self-conscious person, so the simple act of grabbing a dumbbell is terrifying for me, especially since I'm starting with such small weights.  I am getting more comfortable with it, and can laugh at doing chest flys with 20 lb dumbbells while the woman next to me does the same thing with 25s.  She was a tiny thing.

Right now, my workout looks a little bit like this:


Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Week 1 A Cardio B Cardio A Cardio REST

Cardio
Cardio
Cardio

Week 2 B Cardio A Cardio B Cardio REST

Cardio
Cardio
Cardio


Workout A is Chest, Shoulders, and Arms.  Workout B is Back, Abs, and Legs.  It's working alright for me, but I'm still slacking on the cardio.  I've been spending time on the stationary cycle and trying to fit in 30 minutes a day (since the machines have a 30 minute time limit), but I find myself wussing out and quitting much earlier some days.  Today, for instance, I only did 15 minutes on the cycle.  Yesterday I did 10.

Part of the issue is that it is fairly boring.  Music helps but only so much.  Tomorrow is another day, though, and here's hoping I can push forward.  My arms and shoulders have been sore since Sunday, so I really did a number on them, but I didn't do nearly as much on Tuesday to my legs.  I guess I'm training under what I can lift on those.

My upper body is incredibly weak.  I'm struggling with 20 lb weights for pretty much everything with upper body, but I'm looking at sneaking in some leg work tomorrow and topping out the calf raise machine.


No comments:

Post a Comment